Kahoot!

Related image

Year: Middle to upper primary

What is it? Kahoot! is an online quiz game, in which students can either play individually or as teams from multiple devices. The teacher creates an account and can create customised quizzes relating to the content the class has been learning. The teacher projects the quiz onto the interactive whiteboard. This allows students to view the questions, as questions are only view-able from the teacher account. Each game has a unique pin-code, and the students log into the game using the pin-code. The quizzes are a multi-choice platform, where students answer questions via selecting the correct answer (represented by both colours and symbols) from their device. Students score points for accuracy of their answer and for the fastness in which they answer. It is a great resource to use to test students’ knowledge as a summative task while incorporating ICT. Images and videos can also be added to the questions.  At the end of each answer, students are provided with a graph of results, showing how many people chose what answer. These results remain completely anonymous to the students.

Image result for kahoot

Image result for kahootTeacher Link: https://getkahoot.com/

Student Link: https://kahoot.it/#/ 

Application in classrooms via the use of the curriculum: I believe that this app would be most effective for students in middle to upper primary, but could possibly be modified for use in year 2. We will be looking at year 3-4.

Subject: Technologies

Strand: Digital Technologies

Sub-Strand: Digital Technologies Processes and Production Skills

Content Descriptor: Plan, create and communicate ideas and information independently and with others, applying agreed ethical and social protocols (ACTDIP013)

This content descriptor was chosen because aspects of the website can relate to this. Students canhelp plan and create quizzes with teacher help and test their peers.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

10 thoughts on “Kahoot!

  1. Hi SNEALE1,
    Thank you for sharing this excellent resource! You have described how to use Kahoot in a very detailed, yet concise manner. I can definitely see myself using this ‘Digital Technology’ resource in my classroom; I think it will be particularly useful for assessing prior knowledge at the beginning of a topic in HASS or Mathematics in a fun and engaging!

  2. I believe that this resource would be useful in checking students knowledge in both formative and summative assessment. This resource allows for a fun version of assessing students which could help with students who are reluctant to complete paper based tests.

  3. Hi SNEALE1,

    Thank you for sharing this excellent resource! You have described how to use Kahoot in a very detailed, yet concise manner. I can definitely see myself using this ‘Digital Technology’ resource in my classroom; I think it will be particularly useful for assessing prior knowledge at the beginning of a topic in HASS or Mathematics in a fun and engaging way.

    Thank you, Keely.

  4. Kahoot is such a fantastic resource. I am so happy to hear that someone else was able to see the great benefits. I also use Kahoot as a test for students, and they don’t even realise you are testing them because they are having so much fun. I have used Kahoot with younger students you just have to make it very basic and adjust the time they are given to answer the question. Some of the younger students are able to read the questions while others need to have the question read aloud. I hope to see more classes using Kahoot as a resource within the classroom as it is a lot of fun and you are able to get some great data from the students and judge which topics need to be taught more thoroughly.

  5. What a great educational resource!
    The use of game-like assessments in conjunction with suspenseful music, instant scoreboards to engage students and the ability for students to play individually, as a team or as a whole class, using multiple devices is fantastic. This resource can be used for any learning area as a diagnostic, formative or summative assessment. The teacher can create custom quizzes and display the information on the interactive whiteboard, while students receive instant right-or-wrong feedback on their devices. I really like how this app incorporates images and videos to assist students of all ages and abilities, and provides the teacher with a graph of results, informing them of students’ responses and progress. Lastly, I think this app will truly engage students in the learning process, as they are able to create their own Kahoots, promoting higher-order thinking, in addition to peer learning.
    My only concern with this app is that all quizzes use multiple choice answers, which may allow for memorisation. Overall, I would definitely recommend this app for use in the classroom!

  6. Love this resource! It’s easy to use and once it becomes part of the classroom learning, students become familiar with how it works and quicker at signing in.

    I have used Kahoot in a year 6 classroom and the students found it to be fun and engaging, my mentor loved it too. It was a great way to end some of my lessons, as a quick reflection on what the main focus of the lesson was and providing the students with knowledge of what they may need to go over. I did however, need to allocate about 15 min at the end of the lesson, so that everyone could sign in (some students worked as a pair if their device didn’t work), however it wasn’t for every lesson.

  7. Hi SNEALE1,

    I absolutely love this resource! I remember being first introduced it in an attendance PD and I thought to myself that I must remember it! Later on, I ended up forgetting about it until now. Thank you so much for reminding me. I think this app is great as a filler activity, especially for those students who have finished their work early. Will make a great ‘game’ that students can work towards doing if they complete their work to a good standard. The only downside with this app is that it is only in multiple choice so unlikely to help students extend and reach higher levels of thinking as it may lead to rote memorisation. Overall, it’s a good time buster when needed and think would be excellent in all subjects in the classroom.

  8. Thank you for this very informative blog post about Kahoot. I have not yet used Kahoot myself, but it has been recommended to me by a number of my peers. After reading about how easy it is to used, as well as the benefits for both assessment and the use of ICT in the classroom, I am really looking forward to giving Kahoot a try with my new Year 5 class. Thank you for sharing. I think Kahoot will make dreaded test time a lot more enjoyable!

  9. Thanks you for sharing such a great resource. Your explanation and description of Kahoot is wonderful.

    I have used it for several assignments and in practical settings whilst out on practicum. it can be used in a myriad of ways. I have also seen student engagement increase as they perceive the Kahoots’ quiz as fun and enjoyable rather then just another test.

  10. Thank you for sharing this amazing resources. Your explanation is so easy to read and understand.

    I haven’t used Kahoot as yet in the classroom but have used things like Survey Monkey. This seems way more basic and easy to use for all students and gives a fun interactive way for students to engage. I will definitely be using the resource in the future as it so useful for instant feedback from students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *