Coding

https://code.org/learn

Year 6 content descriptor: Implement and use simple visual programming environments that include branching (decisions), iteration (repetition) and user input (ACTDIP020)

This website has a range of activities for students to do with coding. There are short videos on the website which explain to students what coding is and why it is important. This will help students to understand what they are doing in the activities which follow and why they are important.

The website has a range of activities that teach students how to use coding in a fun way. There are various videos relating to students interests (Frozen, Minecraft etc.). I particularly look at the ‘Frozen’ activity which involved me helping Elsa create a pattern which the students can then share with their friends and family. Students must show an understanding of coding in order to create the pattern correctly.

It is important for students to understand what coding is, therefore they can understand how what they’re doing on the computer is working. This will also help students when an issue arises with a computer, they may begin to understand the concepts behind it. They may not be able to fix it, but it gives them an understanding of what the computer is doing.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 2.15.17 pm

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Coding

  1. Hi Kate,

    I found it really useful when reviewing your post to know that there are videos that explain to the students why they are learning this and the definitions for the terms. As John Hattie explains, students should always know the learning objective/outcome for each lesson/subject.

    Great resource!

  2. Hi Kate,

    This is a fantastic resource that you have found. I was fortunate enough to use it with my class on my ATP and they absolutely loved it. My class did coding for the game “Mine Craft”. It was great to see that this resource is able to relate to the students interests by using games they are familiar with. The video descriptor for the “Mine Craft” coding used the inventor of the game which the kids were amazed by.

    I can’t wait to use it again in my own class!

  3. Hi Kate,

    Like “Daynak” said, I also found the videos extremely useful. I have used them at my workplace to demonstrate to staff and students. Having the terms there for all to see was great.

    Will use this resource heaps in my future teaching career.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *